Victories Without The Scale

I’ve been frustrated by the scale. I’m flirting with 215-219lbs. It’s quite annoying. However, I keep trying to remind myself that I’m also focusing on building muscle – but, I’m still disappointed with the scale.

I took a progress pic last week and compared it to just 4 months ago – muscle I am definitely building, there is no question about that. In this pic I’ve lost exactly 11 lbs, but the change in my body composition is ridiculous.

wp-1485356596514.png

Still, though, I can’t help but to be bummed about the number on the scale. Can I please just see the numbers fall already? Is that too much to ask?

I bought one of those nifty scales that measure body fat, muscle, etc…it has this little handle you hold onto and everything, so it’s a bit more accurate. I realize it’s not the most accurate thing ever, but I think seeing my body fat decrease and muscle mass increase will help me feel better. I’ll eventually go and do the BodPod thing.

I made it through the first two weeks of Jillian’s Body Shred. That was awesome! However, I had to stop Body Shred because realistically I knew that there was no way I was going to be able to do the next workouts – I’m not physically capable yet. So, I went back to Body Revolution on Monday and am giving it 100% (I started with dvds 3 &4)…I’m lifting heavier and modifying less. I feel my muscles growing and that’s kind of amazing. I think I’ll be ready for the gym after this round, though, which is exciting and scary all at the same time. A friend of mine really wants to help train me and that’s sounds like fun, but I’m worried about what he’ll think seeing me workout (which shouldn’t matter at all. He’s a friend, you know? – and I am married LOL) and what others will think about me being in the gym. I know I shouldn’t, but I’m weird like that. I’m going to be selling myself short, though, if I don’t get a gym membership!

Anyway, life’s been pretty good. I’m still kicking ass. Hope you all are finding your happy.

8 thoughts on “Victories Without The Scale

  1. You are doing great!!! It does stink about the numbers. They like to stick around sometimes. I can relate to that. Just keep doing what you are and it will come off.

  2. Don’t be worrying about what others think of you in the gym chances are they are too busy with themselves. I started in the gym at 275lb. I start with the couch to 5k on the treadmill, was it easy NO, was I self conscious YES, go for it I bet there will be someone there heavier than you. Keep going well done on your loss

    • Thank you! I’m going to continue at home until at home doesn’t work anymore. I actually have space for a home gym, so I might just do that. It’s so much easier since I’m pretty much going to be a single mom come April or May (my hubby will be driving a semi soon and will be on the road M-F) .

Leave a Reply

