This is addiction.

I wrote this a couple of weeks ago.

*************************

One small flame flickers softly,
Inside a vented box.
Waiting for the day she breaks –
The day she comes and knocks.

And begs the flame to let her in,
To help her escape her mind.
It’ll pull her close, with a warm embrace,
And push her over the line.

The line she drew, so long ago,
That gave her life once more.
The line dividing heaven and hell,
A line she can’t ignore.
 
One small flame flickers softly,
Inside a vented box.
Waiting for the day she breaks –
The day she comes and knocks.
*****************************

It is no secret. I am a recovering addict. I have been fully clean and sober for over 3 years, going on 8 from my choice drug. I was a once a week user and after I stopped the choice drug, I only periodically hit a joint or had a drink. I never lost everything, like some addicts. But, I could have. I’m thankful I didn’t. Sometimes I want that escape again. I know what to do when I do and I do it, but you’re never truly free from addiction.  It’s always there, waiting for you to come knocking.

4 thoughts on “This is addiction.

  1. The poem is beautiful, but it seems to imply that there will be a day you “break”
    I hope I’m misinterpreting that and that’s not actually what you believe. Maybe be careful with your implications? You don’t want your subconscious believing that giving in is inevitable. You’ve come so far and done such an amazing thing, quitting.

    Anyway, I’m probably over reacting. Don’t mind me

    • Thank you 🙂

      Ohhh no…it was written from addiction’s perspective…addiction waits for the day she breaks. Always. Always waiting. Doesn’t mean she will, but it will never abandon her…..no matter how long she’s clean.

Leave a Reply

