New Workout + New Food

Monday I purchased the entire box set of Focus T25 off of eBay for $30. If you haven’t heard of that, it’s a workout program created by Shaun T (think Insanity / Beach Body / Shakeology) that gives you a maximum workout in 25 minutes a day, 5 days a week. It’s a total body program…

maxresdefault

I’m also going to try the 21 Day Fix, but WITHOUT Shakeology. I hate shake diets! And you don’t need the shake. And no, I am not going to try to sell you anything. I will not be becoming a coach as I do not believe in Shakeology anyway. I just wanted to try a new exercise program that I know will push me…and I have to change my eating to accommodate the workouts. I learned while trying to follow the Zone Diet that my carbs cannot come from bread and fruits…so following the 21 Day Fix – which is more about clean eating and controlled portions, than it is restricting / eliminating any one food group. There is a special workout system to follow for the 21 Day Fix, but I’m choosing to do the T25 instead (it’s a bit harder, which I need).

Anyway, the 21 Day Fix includes all the food groups. Depending on your caloric need you’re allowed X amount containers of each food group a day.  I’m using the “1500-1799” group for now, although I should be striving for 2000 calories a day based on their formula (current weight x 11, add 400 [for workout calories burned I believe], subtract 750 for the deficit you need to lose weight). I might need to go to the 1800-2099 due to my workout intensity if I stall.

intake-needs

Green is 1-1/4 cups of non-starchy veggies
Purple is 1-1/4 cups fruit
Red is 3/4 cups lean protein
Yellow is 1/2 cup carbs, including beans (other than green beans)
Blue is 1/4 cup of healthy fats / cheeses
Orange is 1/4 cup of seeds, nuts, dressings
Teaspoon is nut butters / oils

This is the approved food list:

21-Day-Fix-Foods

I’m cheating a bit today because I am using instant oatmeal packets for my morning carbs. I don’t have a lot of “healthy” starchy carbs in the house, since I haven’t been eating them. Next week I’ll switch to old fashioned oats 🙂

So, my day looks like this:

B-fast: Coffee, High Fiber Oatmeal Packet (2 carbs slots), 1/2 banana, Oikos Triple Zero Yogurt
Snack: 1/2 cup cottage cheese, grapes
Lunch: Shaved Chicken with Peanut Butter, Red Beans, 1/2 Banana, Carrots
Snack: Carrots, 1/4 cup Sunflower Seeds
Dinner: Scrambled egg skillet – 2 eggs, spinach, bacon, and shredded cheese topped with salsa.

It’s actually pretty easy to follow. My calories are kind of low today, so I may need to eat a little more protein and veggies. I think this comes to just under 1300….but, I’m not really working out today, so I should be okay!

 

 

One thought on “New Workout + New Food

Leave a Reply

