What Are You Doing?

2016-04-22_08.25.22.jpg

I hit -45 lbs today. This girl is happy dancing all day!

What are you doing? How are you doing it?

I get asked those questions every single day! Mainly by people wanting an easy answer – something like “well, I’m taking X supplement” or “I’m drinking X shake” or “I’m eating whatever the hell I want and barely exercising and the weight is falling off”. Seriously. Those are the answers most people who ask really want to hear.

They surely don’t want to hear that I’m literally working my ass off by, well, working my ass off because that means that’s what they’d have to do, too.

Folks, there is no easy way. There really isn’t. Weight loss surgery is not “the easy way” nor is it permanent. (For the record, I did not have weight loss surgery). Taking fat burners or other pills and supplements isn’t the easy way and it is most definitely not permanent. Drinking shakes, following a fad diet – yep, you guessed it – not the easy way nor is it permanent.

The truth is no weight loss is permanent. The minute you stop doing whatever you’ve been doing you’re going to start gaining. That’s why weight loss shouldn’t be looked at as “I need to lose 10/20/50/100 lbs and then I’ll be good and eat what I want.” Weight loss needs to be looked at as a change of lifestyle. Whatever you do to obtain the weight loss needs to be something you can continue to do forever – modified slightly or not.

So, what do I do? I eat ketogenically. What’s that mean? Well, most of my calories come from fat – 60% to be exact. 30% of my calories come from protein and 10% of my calories come from complex carbs (mainly veggies).

So what do you eat?

I’m a creature of habit and can eat the same things day in and day out, which makes my diet easy. Do I cheat, Yes, sometimes πŸ™‚ That’s okay, though. The occasional cheat is like pressing a reset button for weight loss…I’ve learned that eating a little higher carb a couple of days in a row can help break a plateau. I don’t BINGE, though. Here’s a typical week day meal plan for the day:

5:30am – coffee with 1 tbsp heavy whipping cream, 2tsp benefiber, 1.5tbsp Coffeemate Sugar Free French Vanilla.
7:00am – 3 Keto pancakes (pancakes made from eggs and cream cheese), 2 tbsp of Sugar Free Syrup.
9:00am – 1oz colby jack cheese
11:00am – Workout – burn at least 400 calories
11:45am – Lunch – 8 slices Oscar Mayer DeliFresh Turkey or Chicken (I prefer the chicken), 1 slice Sargento Mozz/Provolone cheese, 1 cup beef broth, 1 tsp of catsup, 1 Atkins Daybreak Creamy Chocolate Shake.
2:00pm – 1oz colby jack cheese
5:30pm – Dinner – 5-7oz of meat (generally chicken or steak) and 1-2 cups of some veggie.
7:30pm – An indulgent snack, like a Carb Smart fudge bar or an Atkins snack bar

This gets me around 1500 calories and 25-30 net carbs per day:)

So what about your workout? What do you do? Well that depends. Mondays are almost always pure cardio – I’m on the elliptical for 30 min, resistance between 11 and 18 with a cadence of 44-48 steps per min. Tuesday’s are generally a DVD, like The Firm: 500 Calorie Burn. Wednesdays are a combo of cardio and strength. Here is what today looked like:

(R=resistance, C=cadence or BPM):

Run: 3/4 mile, R-11, C-47
25 bicep curls / 9lb weights
Run: 1/4 mile, R-14, C-45
25 hammer curls / 9 lb weights
Run: 1/4 mile, R-13, C-47
25 overhead press / 9 lb weights
Run: 1/4 mile, R-15, C-45
20 overhead tricep extension / 7 lb weights
Run: 1/4 mile, R-12, C-46
20 fly’s / 7 lb weights
Run: 1/4 mile, R-14, C-45
25 overhead reach (lying down) / 7 lb weights
Run: 1/4 mile, R-16, C-47

Thursday I rest. Friday is a cardio and strength, Saturday is a DVD, and Sunday is a rest day, although I tend to skip it and do an “easier” DVD.

Like I said, there is no easy way. It’s hard work. It’s dedication. It’s having a willingness to better yourself and to do whatever it takes to get there. If you want to go from unhealthy to healthy, you have to do the work.

I would have never gotten from the point on the left to the point on the right without hard work. Left is 2010 – my heaviest ever, before my first big weight loss journey. The Right is May 2016 – the healthiest I’ve ever been in my life…even healthier than my first journey! There’s a difference of 80lbs between these two pictures (I didn’t start this current journey quite as heavy as the last one!).

photogrid_1465317818271.jpg

What I can tell you is that it’s worth every sore muscle, every bite I didn’t take of something I wanted badly, every drop of sweat. It’s totally worth the effort.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “What Are You Doing?

  1. Looking good, Courtney! It’s fair to say that it takes dedication and hard work to lose weight, and there’s no easy fix. I commend you on your wonderful results!

    • Thanks, Rob πŸ™‚ I feel more than 100% better! I feel healthy and sexy. I’m still fat and I still have a long way to go, but I’ll keep pluggin’ away and get there!

  2. You look absolutely amazing courtney! I have majorly fallen off the wagon and your blogs always motivate me! I need to get back on track. Thanks for the encouragement each week πŸ™‚

  3. I am SOOO inspired by your dedication and hard work!! It is so awesome! You really strive to push yourself and boy do the results look great so far!! πŸ™‚

  4. Really inspiring!
    I know this is a slightly old post, but I only just came across your blog. Really inspiring to see how you are progressing, through grit and determination! Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing how you are doing.

  5. I’ve lost 100 lbs in the past 6 yrs. Gained 10 and lost 5. Then I hovered around that weight fora total loss usually of 90 lbs. Then I went back up 20 lbs. I can’t seem to get back down from this weight now which is aggravating when you lose such a huge amount that those pesky 10- 20 should be simple but isn’t always. I have people ask me all the time what I do and they stop when I explain all the work involved.

Leave a Reply

