Could it be muscle?

I don’t think I’m going to make my weight loss goal this week and that makes me sad. I realize that I ate poorly this weekend, but, honestly, I didn’t binge or anything like that. I indulged a bit, but I didn’t eat so many calories that I should have gained weight…and I’ve eaten so well Monday and Tuesday and so far today that I should at least see the same weight on the scale tomorrow as I did last Thursday, but as of this morning, I’m 2lbs heavier 😦 WTFrick.

I’m seriously thinking of doing a 30 day weigh-in challenge, where I weigh in every stinking day and log it – maybe if I weigh myself every single day and count it for 30 days I’ll get sick of weighing myself every day, LOL….Idk. What I do know is that it is disappointing to work as hard as I’m working and not see that scale budge. Yes, yes, I know – weight loss is measured by other things than the scale, but, hey, my weekly goal is based on the scale moving down…

I do keep reminding myself that I have substantially increased the resistance on my elliptical for the last 3 weeks, going from a 4-7 resistance level to a consistent 10-13 resistance level. I am sure I am taxing my leg muscles.

Also, I have introduced more regular strength training intervals into my cardio workout over the last month…I use 7lb weights on my biceps and triceps and 5lb weights on shoulders/back, etc. I can see and feel a difference in my arm muscles now.

I suppose my slowing weight loss could be a product of building muscle…I don’t know, off the top of my head, how long it takes to build 1lb of muscle, but perhaps one month or so is enough time? I’ll need to look into that, I suppose. I do not want to become bulky, which is why I refuse to use weights heavier than 10lbs, but I do want to be a bit sculpted and toned, so I do need to strength train. Also, muscles burn more calories than fat, so I want those muscles to build a little!

 

 

17 thoughts on “Could it be muscle?

      • i understand, but generally…getting really ripped muscles for a girl, doesn’t happen accidentally or over night. it takes some serious effort. muscle eats fat…the more muscle you have the leaner you’ll be. keep up the hard work!!!! xoxoxo

  1. Yes, it could definitely be muscles that make you gain weight as muscles are heavier than fat. However, it depends on how long you do strength training to build up a mass of muscles that makes you gain weight. I don’t know how long but it’s more than just a few weeks.
    To become sculpted and toned, as you put it, you need to use weights that allow you to do, say, 4 sets with 20-25 reps. If you use heavier weights you’ll get bulky because you build up muscles that push the fat away. You can use weights heavier than 10lbs once you’re toned. Don’t worry, you won’t look like a bodybuilder. But for now stay with the light weights and many reps as you have to get your body to switch from anaerobic to aerobic so that it starts to “burn” fat.
    Hope that helps a bit.
    P.S.: I’m not a professional fitness instructor or anything. I’m just interested in fitness related topics.

      • It’s incorporated into my cardio…HIIT-ish….7lb on biceps and triceps, 5lbs on chest and shoulders….squats, lunges, abs….several reps 2-3 times.

      • Do it 3-4 times with a weight that allows you to do 20-25 reps. The last 3 reps should become difficult though. See if that helps you

  2. It could be muscle, measurements are a good indicator. It could be water weight, lactic acid, or a need for a slight increase in calories. Any way you slice it you are doing great!

    • Thank you! I’m always worried about increasing my calories. I know that I’m working out really hard and I’m burning around 4 to 500 calories a day. But I’m setting myself to eat 1500 or less and I’m usually around 13 to 1400. I would think that’s enough.. but I don’t really know!

      • I know it is scary. I had to increase mine about 4 times over a 6 month period to step off plateaus. I’ve been in maintenance for 4 years now. A lot of women that I work with are terrified at the concept of higher calories because it seems to be backwards, but if you increase 100 at a time until you start losing again it won’t be to much of a shock to your body. A lot of people do good between 1600-1800 for continuous sustainable loss. 🙂 I have never relied on one, but having a fitbit is a sure way to get your calories exactly right. Otherwise I usually have people calculate their numbers through an online TDEE calculator and then make a deficit. You would be surprised what your body really needs to consistently lose. I’m 135 with a BF% around 20-22% and maintain with 2000-2200 calories a day. (Just telling you as a reference) If you ever need anything, let me know. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Lacrimi de înger – Angel tears | look around!

Leave a Reply

