Weigh-In Wednesday: Week 16

image

I dreaded this Weigh In. I had a feeling I wasn’t going to make my weekly goal for the first time in 16 weeks – and I didn’t. I was 0.8 lbs away from making my goal.

image

On the plus side, though, my booty and legs freaking hurt!! I thought I did not get a good workout yesterday, but apparently, I did!

Today I choose to focus on my progress:

1.) I am able to run on the elliptical for 40 min or more without feeling like I’m dying. When I started I could barely run for 3 min. Yes, that was really 3 min.

2.) I have lost 32.2 lbs in 16 weeks!

3.) I have dropped 2 pant sizes!!

4.) My self esteem has sky rocketed.

5.) I have stuck with it and made it harder when I feel like it has become easy!

So, to break through this little set back I am going to change things up a bit. I’m going to keep it low carb, but I’m going to restrict myself to 35 or less net carbs a day and cut out the Atkins bars (which really sucks because I just bought 5 boxes). I am wondering if the sugar alcohols are affecting my weight loss…I only have one bar a day, but I could easily replace that with another “dessert”.

I’m also going to switch up my workout. More strength training with cardio. If I feel like I didn’t get a good workout on DVD days, I’ll run on the elliptical for 20 min. A second workout never hurt anybody!

10 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday: Week 16

  1. A second workout can hurt if you don’t take enough time for recovery. Too much or a monotonous workout can lead to a decrease in performance or the plateauing you were/are afraid of. This is called overtraining and can result in you losing strength and making no more progress, i.e. losing more weight etc. It’s something you might wanna consider when changing your diet and workout plans.
    On the other hand, you can be really proud of the progress you already made! Keep going!

    • Thanks for the encouragement and info šŸ™‚ yes, I wouldn’t work the same muscle groups. I meant if I used a DVD for strength training, say upper body, but didn’t feel like a got great calorie burn, I’d run on the elliptical later that day.

      • You’re welcome šŸ™‚ Still, don’t do too much. It could be too much for your body if you don’t take enough time for recovery, even if you’re doing different things, i.e. cardio and strength training. If you feel like your strength training wasn’t okay, vary the intensity. Add a set of each exercise ’til you feel your muscles burn.

      • I think it’s the calories burned that bothers me and the fact that I was barely sweating. I feel like I need to have my heart rate up, be sweating like crazy, and burn 400 calories to have a productive workout….the truth is, it’s just stinkin’ thinkin’. I need to accept that strength training is a good workout in conjunction with alternating cardio. This isn’t my first rodeo, so I know better…

Leave a Reply

