Small Changes :)

So change is good, right? Yes, most of the time. Sometimes not so much, but those are what we call “learning experiences”. This post is just me throwing some thoughts out there…

Before this current journey, I had many learning experiences – all failures – or partial failures. They would work for a minute, but not in the long run. I was trying out all sorts of diets. Weight Watchers, calorie counting, low fat – nothing worked for me. Low carb has been the only thing to work, which is why I’m back at it – but I had to re-evaluate my plan – am I really doing low carb correctly? Well, not really…

It’s working, but it’s not working like it did previously. Maybe it’s because I’m older now? Maybe I’m not drinking enough water? (I’m trying to hit half my weight in water per day). Maybe I’m not eating enough fat? Or, maybe I’m just cheating too much…

This led me to research and I’ve been researching for 2 days now. What I’ve concluded is that too many of my carbs are coming from grains (the low carb tortillas and low carb bread), I’m probably eating too much protein (excess protein can actually make your body turn the amino acids in the protein into glucose…our bodies burn glucose for energy instead of fat, which is exactly what you don’t want), and I’m cheating too much.

So, I revamped my plan. I used a keto calculator (found here) to calculate the macros I really should be at and put those numbers into MyFitnessPal – mine came to 1517 calories, 25 net carbs, 105g protein, and 111g fat…however, MFP won’t give me those exact numbers, so I’m aiming for 35 or less net carbs, 114g protein, and 101g fat. I’m also not buying anymore low carb tortillas or Healthy Life Bread for awhile, but instead I’m going to try these cream cheese pancakes without the sweetener for “bread”. Wish me luck – making those tonight!

I’m really hoping that changing my eating up a bit – cutting the low carb grains and adding above ground veggies – in conjunction with switching my workouts up will help jump start my weight loss again. Granted, I am still on the right track because I haven’t had a gain, but I do need to be proactive about it to keep the gain from happening!

Anyway – today is a rest day and I’m feeling pretty and thinner, so here’s a selfie 🙂

image

9 thoughts on “Small Changes :)

  1. Go you! All I see from this is dedication. Refocusing. Which is amazing. I know I need to get wheat out of my pantry since I’m allergic and it’s probably not helping me out. But low carb tortillas and bread are so convenient! Gah!

    If you haven’t tried cloud bread, it’s a great burger bun/sandwhich sub!

    http://www.food.com/recipe/carb-free-cloud-bread-411501

    Here’s a skillet pizza recipe too, no grains involved. Great with a salad if you wanted something to mix it up. 🙂

    Good luck!

  2. Just be careful with the low carb diet. Yes, you do lose weight not eating (too many) carbs, but your body then starts a dysfunctioning metabolism. You have like a container for carbs un your body od about 10-20lbs which saves carbs for times of need. Your brain needs a lot of carbs, so if you don’t eat enough, it’ll take the energy from there. But s soon s you start eating carbs again, you’ll just as quickly gain those 10-20lbs again…
    But you probably know that. We have learned in school that a healthy meal should contain 50% carbs, 30% fat and 20% protein. But then again, every body works a little different. I just wanted to let you know what I learnt in school (I’m doing med school). Keep on going, whatever makes you feel good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

