And So She Proved Anything Is Possible

I did. I really did.

Today I proved that anything, within reason, is possible if you believe in yourself. I ran mile #1 on my elliptical in 8 min and 44 seconds. Yes, 8 min and 44 seconds. Not 9 min. Not 10 min. Not 15 min….8 min and 44 seconds.

When I started on my elliptical in Oct 2015, I could barely run for 5 min before I was ready to give up. I was persistent, though. I made it my goal to run for 10 min, for 15 min, for 20 min, for 25 min, and when I finally ran for 30 min without giving up I felt such excitement rise up in me! I had done it!

Yeah, sure, in the beginning I had to stop for 30 seconds to a min after every half lap, but I persevered. I made it to one lap before needing to stop, then two, etc. And now, today, I can run 4 laps – an entire mile – on that elliptical without stopping to rest! I do stop after every lap or two once I hit that first mile, but it’s mostly because my toes go to sleep, not because I’m fatigued.

This is huge to me. I am so proud of myself right now. I would have never in a million years thought that I’d ever be able to “run” a mile in less than 9 min. Yes, I realize it’s way easier on an elliptical than it is a real track, but even that girl who stepped on the elliptical in Oct would have never dreamt she’d be able to run a mile in less than 9 min on that thing.

I am so excited to weigh in tomorrow. Nah, I don’t think I’m going to see a huge loss, but I know I will see some loss, and even if I don’t, I accomplished something huge this week and that’s enough for me!

image

10 thoughts on “And So She Proved Anything Is Possible

Leave a Reply

