Diet Bets – Yay or Nay?

FitFluential-DietBet

What are your thoughts on joining a Diet Bet? I seriously considered it and almost joined one – right up until the point I selected “pay with paypal”. Then, I thought about it and now I’m undecided.

The general rule is you join a bet by betting $35 that you will lose 4% of your weight in the time allotted, which is generally 1 month. All the money goes into a pot. The “winners” split the pot. You can win quite a bit if you join a large group and most of them fail.

The bet I almost joined was actually 4 weeks exactly. I ran the numbers and I have to lose 10.7lbs in 4 weeks to “win” my money back and share the pot. That’s 2.675 lbs per week, which is aggressive. It’s totally not in line with my weekly goal of 1.8lbs, however, I weigh a lot, so the weight would easily come off if I made myself actually do “induction” for low carb. Right now I’m at 30-40 carbs per day….if I nixed my morning coffee, I’d be 4 carbs lower and could probably make the weight loss.

On the other hand, I’d be sorely disappointed if I bet my $35, ate extremely low carb for the month, made the weight loss, and my share of the pot was only $5 extra…..LOL

So what are your thoughts? Have you joined a diet bet? Would you ever join a diet bet? Do you think it’s safe? Do you think it’s sensible or do you think it’s setting yourself up for failure and bad choices (like using diuretics to achieve the weigh loss).

 

*Picture found on google….I am not affiliated with FitFluential, nor do I know anything about them πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Diet Bets – Yay or Nay?

  1. I was tempted by one in December but didn’t join. It was a winner takes all by most pounds lost type deal. I don’t think “biggest loser” type bets are fair or healthy. It’s not the mindset I need even if it helps me kickstart things. The diet bet you explained sounds like a better deal as it asks for a doable percentage. But like you said, that sounds like a miserable 4 weeks. And personally? If I won, I’d probably think I was doing better than usual and slip into rewarding myself by slacking instead of staying the course.

    I am an admin for a small eating lifestyle group on a social media page and we are rolling out a 30 day challenge for our group and picking winners at random. No money in, no money out, prizes are on-program supplies [baking, protein shakes] to continue making healthy choices. We don’t want it to be about the weight even though that and health are the final goals. We just want to support and cheer people on to keep making good choices. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve completed (and won) two diet bets. Both of them were $35 and I ended up winning $44 and $48 respectively.
    Going into a diet bet is always the best. You have these expectations and your motivation is high because it’s something new and there’s a social aspect to it (if you use the app for more than just weighing in) and hey…YOU CAN WIN MONEY! I’m always very excited about starting them because it gives me an obtainable goal, but not so obtainable that I don’t have to still try.
    After a couple weeks, though, I start putting way too much pressure on myself. Knowing that I put money down and that I do have something riding on the outcome, I set my expectations too high and I’m too strict (which then, of course, causes potential binging problems from feeling over restricted). By the time the bet is ending, I’m not in a good mental spot.
    Granted, I think each person reacts differently to having that weight goal in a diet bet. I’m sure there are plenty of people who use it as a very successful motivational tool. I think if you approach the challenge with the right mindset, it’s a fun way to try and achieve your goals. But you have to be careful because it can also flip the other way and you end up beating yourself up for not doing such-and-such (particularly if you’re on track to not make your final weight goal).
    If you have extra money you can part with, I don’t think it’s a bad idea to at least try it some time. But if you do that, don’t focus on the money. Essentially consider it gone as soon as you place the bet so that way you aren’t putting undue pressure on yourself to get it back.

  3. I joined a DietBet transformer, and paid $120 upfront for the six months. I had to lose 10% or 31lb. It was doable if I hadn’t been unable to do vigorous exercise, but as it is I’m limited as to what I can do. So I pulled out and got my money back. I think they are a good idea if you can commit to working hard, because sometimes you need an extra push to get going! I just couldn’t commit due to the exercise thing, and I wouldn’t have lost through diet alone.

Leave a Reply

