Day 3 Done!!

So Day 3 of my 14 Days of Low Carb is done. I was at 37 net carbs by the end of the day. I know I can do better after Saturday because I actually go grocery shopping, lol. I decided to do this challenge on a whim and was not prepared.

image

My net carbs look like they’re at 33, but they’re actually 37. Somebody put the atkins bar I had in as net carbs, not carbs minus sugar alcohol. That’s the one thing lacking in MFP….you can’t put sugar alcohol in anywhere, so for things that contain it, you’ll have to manually enter and subtract the sugar alcohol from the carbs. I don’t like putting total net carbs in MFP because I’d have to manually enter everything, lol…it’s much easier to just do carbs minus fiber at the end of the day…but you definitely have to watch anything with sugar alcohol (for me, that generally ends up being only atkins products).

I worked out twice yesterday because I felt guilty for slacking off at the lunch workout. Yes, I actually felt guilty for that. Wow.

Day 4 of the 14 Days Of Low Carb

Today is starting out good. I had my coffee and the same bfast as yesterday, except I swapped the tortilla out for a piece of Healthy Life Low Carb bread…same amount of net carbs, though.

I won’t be working out today, as I have a meeting after dinner tonight and we’ll get home too late to shower before bed. It’s okay, though, I’ve done 3 days in a row and two workouts yesterday! I deserve the day off!

I’m not really craving anything bad anymore, so that’s great news! I ordered my Atkins Day Break chocolate shakes online and they came yesterday  (can’t find them in any stores nearby, boooooo). I’m excited to have those back as an alternative low carb snack.

Anyway, I hope your Thursday is starting out fantastic!! Have a great day!!

8 thoughts on “Day 3 Done!!

  1. Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    Courtney’s blog is a new page I have been following because I love the fact she is taking control of her life by implementing habits that will help her achieve her goals. You cannot continue to do the same old things and expect to get brand new and awesome results. Something has to change!

  2. From my understanding, sugar alcohols aren’t digested by the body so they are not counted? Could you explain further, please? I’d like to know because I try to stay sugar free except for natural sugars in grains, fruits, etc. I use stevia and sugar alcohols to sweeten. TIA!

    • You are correct. You need to remove the sugar alcohols from the carb count to get your net carbs. Net carbs equals the total carbohydrate count minus the fiber minus the sugar alcohols. However, if you’re using MyFitnessPal like I am to track, there is no way to put in sugar alcohol or to view net carbs, so, you must visually subtract the fiber from carb count to get net carbs. What I’ve been doing to get around that sense I do eat foods with sugar alcohols is to manually enter my foods into my fitness pal that have sugar alcohol. For my entry under “carbs” I subtract the sugar alcohol only from the carbs (because I’ll subtract the fiber later!). Then, at the end of the day, I can briefly subtract fiber from the carb count and have a more realistic net carb count. My Fitness Pal is not user friendly for seeing net carbs. You must pay a lot of attention to the nutrition values in MyFitnessPal. Or, you might end up with more net carbs or less net carbs than what you think.

Leave a Reply

